AC Company San Antonio

An air conditioning unit cools your home, we all know that. But do you know what actually makes these systems tick? AC units convert chemicals from gas to liquid and back again, which circulates the hot air from inside of the home to outside the home. This process cools your home by simply removing the unwanted hot air. There are two main types of AC refrigerant chemicals that are used in the process: R-22 and R-410A.


The first chemical is R-22, known by its chemical name as hydro-chlorofluorocarbon (HCFC). People commonly know R-22 AC units as units that use Freon. However this is just the brand name of one manufacturer. This chemical has been used in AC units in the past, but is currently no longer being manufactured due to negative repercussions. R-22 has been found to be bad for the environment and adds to the destruction of the atmospheric ozone layer. These units are also becoming increasingly difficult to have installed and have repaired because of said negative factors. Luckily, an alternate chemical is now being used in condensers: R-410A.


This new alternative, R-410A, is known as hydro-fluorocarbon (HFC). R-410A uses Puron, and it has been proven much better for the environment. It does not contribute to weakening the ozone layer. The R-410As have also been approved for use where the R-22 units have been denied. These new units function at a higher pressure than the R-22s, are more reliable and are more efficient, which saves you money. The R-410A units are becoming the new standard for AC refrigerants, so get on board and replace that old polluting unit!

It is highly recommended that if your AC unit still uses R-22, you should get your condenser changed out to a R-410A. It’s time! Change out your unit! For all your installation and repair needs, make sure to call Champion AC.


Ben Hubbert is a retired Combat Controller with the United States Air Force. He started Champion AC in 2007. Ben is originally from the Mississippi Gulf Coast. He is happily married and an avid fan of the San Antonio Spurs and New Orleans Saints.